Toolkit for Public Libraries

Provides information on specific conditions for children and adults, healthy living tips, and a heart and stroke encyclopedia.

The CDC provides information on cardiovascular disease, occupational heart disease, risk factors, preventative practices, and general cardiovascular health.

A National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health Web site that contains news and overviews about heart disease along with information on specific conditions, diagnoses, symptoms, screening, treatments, prevention, alternative therapies, recovery, research, and much more.

National Institutes of Health Web site that provides fact sheets and Web links for heart and vascular diseases such as high blood pressure, heart attacks, cholesterol, and other heart diseases.

The Journal of the American Medical Association provides information on symptoms, diagnosis and prevention of coronary artery disease.

Organization that partners with hospitals and rehabilitation clinics to provide support group meetings and educational forums. Contains educational resources on heart disease and coping, tools for caregivers and survivors, and Web links to other resources.

Provides resources and Web links for women’s heart disease in the areas of medical information, research, prescription medicines, alternative medicine, healthy eating, fitness, wellness, and mental health.

The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute prepared a clinically proven eating plan to help lower blood pressure (one of the risk factors to heart disease). This plan includes sample menus.

Contains resources and Web links for parents of children with congenital heart defects or diseases.

The Texas Heart Institute gives information about what ischemia is, who is at risk, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of ischemia.