Toolkit for Public Libraries

Understanding the role of consumer health and the consumer health librarians.

The American Academy of Family Physicians’ (AAFP) website can also be viewed in Spanish. Sections are dedicated to family health, from teens to senior adults, as well as information on diseases, conditions, prevention, and wellness.

The NIH Consumer Health Information page contains health information for patients, families, and friends. A great site for free, reliable health information.

A National Institutes of Health Web site that contains information on specific types of cancer, clinical trials, treatment, prevention, causes, genetics, coping, statistics, news, and research.

Provides information on specific cancer types, treatments, healthy living, prevention, statistics, research, clinical trials, news, and community activities and resources.

Provides information on the diagnosis, treatment, symptoms, care, clinical trials, and research on cancers that affect women.

A financial aid, advocacy, and support organization that provides educational resources and publications on childhood cancers.

This site provides information about the purpose, participant qualifications, locations, and contact information for clinical trials.

This resource is designed to help patients or family members understand lab tests.

To better understand genetic variations, turn to this resource.

This database contains information about thousands of rare diseases.

When searching for the health effects of household products, this database is a great resource.

Great site for nutrition facts and analysis.