The National Library of Medicine (NLM) makes information about health, disease, medications, and more available through its collection of databases. The most well-known is probably MedlinePlus, a site for consumer health information.
NLM also provides access to NIHSeniorHealth, a site that provides consumer health information tailored for seniors and caregivers; ClinicalTrials.gov provides access to information on clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions; and Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
A full list of NLM databases can be found at www.nlm.nih.gov/hinfo.html.
Common concerns
Cardiovascular Health
Heart disease is the number one killer in the United States. There are many conditions that get called heart disease. The most common, coronary artery disease, happens when the arteries that supply blood to the heart get narrower or blocked, causing a heart attack.
The Heart Truth, a program of the NIH’s Heart, Lung & Blood Institute, focuses on women’s risk of heart disease. The site features stories of women and heart disease, offers a sign-up for e-newsletters, and provides information on heart attack warning signs and ways to lower one’s risk of heart disease.
Diabetes Prevention & Maintenance
The National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse was established to increase knowledge and understanding of diabetes. An extensive index links to topics and titles related to diabetes; links to research and clinical trials are also provided.
The Diabetes Community Outreach Kit provides information about diabetes in older adults and suggests how to promote the Power to Control campaign through educational activities, media events, and promotional campaigns.
Azumio’s app GlucoseBuddy (Android & iOS) allows the user to input data about glucose numbers, carbs eaten, insulin doses, and activities. The information can be viewed online (free account required). An iOS “Pro” version is also available ($6.99 iTunes); it tracks blood pressure and weight.
Tobacco Cessation
The site smokefree.gov encourages smokers to take advantage of the tools and information available to help them in the effort to quit smoking. Smokers can talk to an expert, sign up for text message support, and find other tools. There are sections on supporting a smoker’s decision to quit and talking to kids about not starting to smoke.
The National Cancer Institute app QuitPal (iPhone) allows the user to set a quit smoking date, financial goals, and reminders. The app has the ability to link to social networking sites to share progress. Users receive “craving tips” and other advice.
Occupational health resources are available from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) through MedlinePlus, a consumer-oriented health information website; Haz-Map, an occupational health database designed for professionals and consumers; and ToxTown, which provides information on “environmental concerns and toxic chemicals where you live, work, and play.”